News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/9/2018 3:29:19 PM to 7/7/2018 12:00:08 AM.

News Flash

City of Sequim News & Alerts

Posted on: January 9, 2018

[ARCHIVED] Sequim City Council Elects Mayor and Deputy Mayor

The Sequim City Council unanimously re-elected Dennis Smith to a second term as Mayor and elected Candace Pratt as Deputy Mayor at the January 8, 2018 City Council meeting. Both are two-year terms. The City Mayor presides at City Council meetings and represents the City at ceremonial and intergovernmental meetings. The Deputy Mayor presides in the Mayor’s absence.

Smith was appointed to the City Council on October 8, 2012. He was elected to the Council in 2013 and elected by his fellow Council members as Deputy Mayor in 2014. He serves on the City Finance Committee, is the Council liaison to the City Planning Commission and the Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, and serves on the Clallam Transit Board of Directors.

Pratt was elected to the City Council in 2011 and served as Mayor from January 2014 through December 2015. She is the Council chair of the Sequim Lodging Tax Advisory Committee and serves on the Growth Management Act Regional Committee.

Miller and Janisse Take the Oath of Office

City Council members Ted Miller and Brandon Janisse were sworn into office by Mayor Dennis Smith at the January 8 City Council Meeting.

Miller was elected to the Council in 2009 and served as Deputy Mayor from January 2016 through December 2017. Janisse was elected to the Council in 2017 and is beginning his first term. Mayor Smith and Councilor Bob Lake were both re-elected in 2017 and took the oath of office at the December 11, 2017 City Council meeting.

The Sequim City Council meets on the second and fourth Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at the Sequim Civic Center located at 152 West Cedar Street. City Council agendas and minutes are posted on the City’s website at