City Council


The City Council is the city's legislative body, and Councilors are the elected representatives of people living in Sequim. Sequim operates with a Council-Manager form of government. The Council's principal job is making policy. Councilors appoint a City Manager who is the chief executive officer and head of the administrative branch implementing policy.

Sequim's voters elect seven, non-partisan Councilors to four-year terms on a citywide basis. Council elections are held in odd-numbered years. For more information on elections or how to register to vote visit Clallam County Elections.

Click the following link for more information on your City Council and their role and Sequim's government structure.

The latest  City Council Rules of  Procedure were adopted on April 24, 2023 by Resolution 2023-07.


Councilors primarily accomplish their work during open public meetings held regularly the second and fourth Monday of each month starting at 6 p.m. Councilors often hold work sessions prior to regular meetings at 5 p.m., and infrequently hold other special meetings. City Council meetings are held in person and through video conference. The public may attend by coming to the Council Chambers, joining the Zoom webinar, or participating via phone.

Attending meetings:

The public may attend by coming to the Council Chambers, joining the Zoom webinar, or participating via phone.

  • To participate in person: Visit the Sequim Civic Center at 152 W Cedar St. The Council Chambers is on the first floor. 
  • To participate via Zoom: When a meeting is occurring, click this link: 
  • To participate by phone: Dial (253) 215-8782 and enter Webinar ID 875 4998 9539 

Written comments may be delivered to the Civic Center or emailed to to be entered into the meeting record. Council will also take verbal comments during the meeting. 

Meeting Materials:

Agendas for all Council meetings are posted online no less than 24 hours in advance, and you can sign up to receive notification of agenda posting

View all archived agendas, minutes, and audio recordings

Your City Council

Citizens are encouraged to communicate with their elected representatives. During each regular City Council meeting, the Council provides an open public comment period, but you can also send an email or call your Councilors.

PositionNameCalculated TermEmail
Council Position 1William Armacost11/26/2019 - 12/31/
Council Position 2Kathy Downer11/23/2021 - 12/31/
Council Position 3Vicki Lowe11/23/2021 - 12/31/
Council Position 4Rachel Anderson11/23/2021 - 12/31/
Council Position 5Brandon Janisse, Deputy Mayor01/01/2022 - 12/31/
Council Position 6Lowell Rathbun11/23/2021 - 12/29/
Council Position 7Tom Ferrell, Mayor01/01/2020 - 12/31/
City ClerkAmy Aschenbrenner
Sequim City Council

Front Row:  Council members Rachel Anderson, Kathy Downer, and Vicki Lowe.  Back Row:  Council members William Armacost and Lowell Rathbun, Mayor Tom Ferrell, and Deputy Mayor Brandon Janisse.

Council Goals 2023