City Council

Sequim's elected representatives

The City Council is the city's legislative body, and Councilors are the elected representatives of people living in Sequim. Sequim operates with a Council-Manager form of government. The Council's principal job is making policy. Councilors appoint a City Manager who is the chief executive officer and head of the administrative branch implementing policy.

Sequim's voters elect seven, non-partisan Councilors to four-year terms on a citywide basis. Council elections are held in odd-numbered years. For more information on elections or how to register to vote visit Clallam County Elections.

Click the following link for more information on your City Council and their role and Sequim's government structure.

Virtual Public meetings

Councilors primarily accomplish their work during open public meetings held regularly the second and fourth Monday of each month starting at 6 p.m. Councilors often hold work sessions prior to regular meetings at 5 p.m., and infrequently hold other special meetings. Currently the City Council cannot meet in person due to the risks of COVID-19.

Attending Meetings

Agendas for all Council meetings are posted online no less than 24 hours in advance, and you can sign up to receive notification of agenda posting. Published agendas contain guidance on how to listen to meetings online or by telephone, and how to participate in open public comment and public hearings.

Live Audio and Visual Streaming of Council Meetings

People may also join by calling (253) 215-8782 and using ID# 912 3546 4249. Written public comment can be sent to Assistant City Manager / Acting City Clerk Charisse Deschenes at cdeschenes@sequimwa.gov and will be distributed to the Council prior to the meeting.

View archived agendas, audio recordings and minutes

2022 city council meeting schedule

January 10
January 24
February 14
February 28
March 14
March 28
April 11
April 25
May 9
May 23
June 13
June 27
July 11
July 25
August 8
August 22 (Canceled by City Council on January 10, 2022)
September 12
September 26
October 10
October 24
November 14
November 28
December 12
December 26 (Canceled by City Council on January 10, 2022) 

Your City Council

Citizens are encouraged to communicate with their elected representatives. During each regular City Council meeting, the Council provides an open public comment period, but you can also send an email or call your Councilors.

Council Position 1William Armacostwarmacost@sequimwa.gov
Council Position 2Kathy Downerkdowner@sequimwa.gov
Council Position 3Vicki Lowevlowe@sequimwa.gov
Council Position 4Rachel Andersonranderson@sequimwa.gov
Council Position 5Brandon Janisse, Deputy Mayorbjanisse@sequimwa.gov
Council Position 6Lowell Rathbunlrathbun@sequimwa.gov
Council Position 7Tom Ferrell, Mayortferrell@sequimwa.gov
Acting City ClerkCharisse Deschenescdeschenes@sequimwa.gov


City Council Goals

City Council Goals 2021 - 2022 (PDF)

City Council Meeting Rules of Procedure